When Therapy & Antidepressants Aren’t Enough

“The yoga mat is a good place to turn when talk therapy and antidepressants aren’t enough.”  -Amy Weintraub

Other then my family very few are aware of the fact that I am not only a yoga & meditation enthusiast, but I am also on antidepressants and go to therapy once a week. I haven’t, until now, shared this with many people. This is not because I’m ashamed but because so many in our society look down upon the word “depression”. I admire those who can do just one of these things (yoga, meditation, therapy, or antidepressants) and still maintain that balance in life that we all (at one point) seek. Swallowing a pill each morning and making my 11:00 set appointment with my therapist of 2 1/2 years isn’t quite enough for me – So that’s why I do yoga. And that’s just fine for me. I do hope to one day not have to take a pill when I wake up but for now I see it as a step I have to take. I believe in and pursue a “Meditation over medication” lifestyle, but it’s much easier said then done when your body is accustomed to a specific regimen. I know that when the time is right I will be able to have full control and an understanding of my mind, body, and soul without the help from a daily dosage. Until then I’m going to keep on keepin’ on and be okay with the fact that yes, I have been diagnosed with depression & no it does not make me “sick” or not able to function properly; It’s simply something I have to learn to adjust to as I grow into the person I want to be. Until then I’ll be bending my ass in ways that I often question, doing my best to remember to breathe, and loving every second of it while doing so. Betsy Cañas Garmon put it perfectly, “I do yoga so that I can stay flexible enough to kick my own arse if necessary.”

So shout out to anyone else who has ever suffered from depression, anxiety, or any of those other neat things… I’m with you love, we’re all one – I feel you, I get you. I don’t want anyone to ever feel alone. Some are not as open about these things but fact of the matter is we all have our issues, we just don’t always choose to deal with them. But if I’ve learned anything it’s that running from your emotions is an unhealthy way to live your life, don’t cheat yourself. Embrace it, love it, conquer it.

Namaste loves, xoxox

One thought on “When Therapy & Antidepressants Aren’t Enough

Leave a Reply

