Pretending You’re Still 8

Last night I was able to spend some time with my phenomenal cousin, Bridger Dean. He and I have grown up together. We’re four years apart & share some really amazing memories. Being an only child I’ve never known what it’s like to have siblings but Bridger is the closest thing to a little brother I’ve ever had. We have had a very special bond from day one. Families have issues and sometimes it creates distance and that has unfortunately been the case with he and I for the past year, so last night was really special for us. He’s playing for the Skyline baseball team and maintaining a 4.o GPA – I can’t count how many times I said, “I’m so proud of you” last night. He has always amazed me and in so many different ways…. Surviving Meningitis as a newborn and losing his hearing in one ear because of it was just the beginning. He strives for excellence in the class room as well as on the field (or in the pool, or on the court…). There hasn’t ever been anything that has kept him from achieving his goals. Not only is he a brilliant young man but he also has a heart of gold & can make anyone smile even in the hardest times. I love him so much and admire him for his outstanding wisdom at such a young age. I like to pretend he’s still eight years old but he’ll be turning 16 this September and that scares the bejesus out of me. He’s my little baby, since when can he drive a vehicle!!! He’s size 13 in shoes and has the biggest hands in his school, the day I’ve dreaded for years now has come and gone – He has outgrown me. I can’t pick him up and twirl him around, try and be the boss of him, or tickle him until he pees.

We went bowling last night and had an awesome time together. He got 6 strikes in a row, naturally. I got 3. That’s how it’s always been, he has shown me up for years now. I love it because he makes me eager to go on new adventures and learn new things. I watch him do flips off the diving board and I’m too scared to even jump off of it, but it’s always fun. He’s a sweetheart and I really cherish our relationship. After bowling we decided to surprise my mum and show up at her house (she hasn’t seen Bridger in months either). She saw him and had instant tears of joy. We caught up and laughed about old memories while we made some new ones. Even though the last year has been really hard it brings me peace to know that at the end of the day I still have my beautiful family…I love you Bridger Dean. Shine on honey

Leave a Reply

