No Niche

Lately I’ve had a hard time getting excited to ‘go out’. I’m not even talking going out and drinking or getting crazy, I’m talking about kickin’ it. I just haven’t wanted to. I finally realized why I’ve felt this way – I am having a hard time finding people I can relate to. My life has never been the same as my peers. Maybe it’s because I went to school where being wealthy was all anyone really knew so they didn’t understand working for what you have like I did.

I’ve always enjoyed spending time with my aunties, mum, and others who are older then me. I appreciate their wisdom, admire their lifestyles, and adore their personalities. I’ve realized I’m happiest when I’m having an intelligent and interesting conversation with someone that keeps me thinking and helps me learn. Unfortunately, this isn’t usually with people that are my age. And it’s not because I don’t try and see from your point of view, it’s because I don’t find the following interesting: Drama, gossip, hateful comments on perfect strangers, immaturity, selfishness, and habits that feed the ego. Those are just a few things I don’t tolerate.

I have a hard time relating to someone who is so self-involved and wrapped in their ego, there are so many other important things in the world to busy your mind with. The things people could do with the time they spend on living negatively could make a huge difference in this world if they put it towards the right things. What I’m getting at is it is getting harder and harder for me to find a niche, a place to relate to, and people that truly get it. I would love nothing more then to have some friends that have concerns that go beyond the color of their toes and the heels they got from nordstrom… Thoughts that blow the drama, hate, and self centered tendencies out of the water.

I’m grateful for all the friendships in my life but when we are living completely different lives and yours is filled with ignorance and the belief that you’re entitled to nothing but the best it gets hard. It would be different if people put in the work to receive the outcome, but they don’t. I’d love to see how some people would do without the financial support of their parents and the luxurious lifestyle they were born into. I’m not saying that everyone in that situation is a self-centered materialistic person.

All I’m saying is if you have the opportunity to have a safe home to live in, your parents financial security to fall back on, and a small amount of adult responsibilities then make the best of it. Don’t bitch about how you want more, more, more. Go out and get it. And don’t assume that it will just come to you because you ‘deserve it’. The universe gives back when it see’s you putting forth the effort… Not bitching and moaning about petty things. Gratitude seems so small but the way your life/the people around you are effected when you don’t have it is huge.

Leave a Reply

