‘Thought I Couldn’t Breathe Without You, I’m Inhalin’

You never forget the burn that a failed relationship leaves. I look back on the times where I was so sure that making someone happy by being something I am not was the recipe to the ‘perfect relationship’. I was so mistaken! When you have feelings for someone it’s easy to start imagining how happy you’d be if they would just ‘love you’ as much as you ‘love them’. But why would you ever adjust the unique individual you are for someone who clearly does not see how brilliant you are? I’d always feel awful when I’d realize that he just wasn’t that into me. I’d try and figure out what I did wrong & what I could change so that he would “change his mind” & want to be with me. I’m sorry but fact of the matter is if someone doesn’t want you as you are then they don’t want you at all – & wanting them back is a waste of your time & good energy. Seek the person that adores every little thing you do. That wouldn’t change a thing about you & never let’s you question how they feel about you. I’ve had plenty of relationships that haven’t worked out & times of self doubt because of them but it’s not worth it!

As I got ready for my day with the man that makes me forget about all those who let me go in the past, Destinys childs music video ‘Survivor’ came on. The lyrics made me think about all the guys who said I wasn’t good enough & left me a little heart broken at the time but a lot happier today. I’m grateful that I didn’t end up with the guys I thought were ‘ideal’ at the time. It lead me to the love I’ve honestly always dreamed of. So when it doesn’t work out with someone you thought you could see yourself with, move forward with trust that it all happens for a reason & confidence that you don’t need anyone to be extremely happy. Celebrate who you are & be proud of the beauty you have within. When the right person comes along embrace it & celebrate each other in this life full of love. Until then, like I always say, don’t settle until you’re sold. The stress isn’t worth it – Waiting for a healthy, positive, rewarding relationship is.

Now that you’re out of my life
I’m so much better
You thought that I’d be weak without you
But I’m stronger
You thought that I’d be broke without you
But I’m richer
You thought that I’d be sad without you
I laugh harder
You thought I wouldn’t grow without you
Now I’m wiser
Though that I’d be helpless without you
But I’m smarter
You thought that I’d be stressed without you
But I’m chillin’
You thought I wouldn’t sell without you
Sold 9 million

I’m a survivor (What?)
I’m not gon give up (What?)
I’m not gon stop (What?)
I’m gon work harder (What?)
I’m a survivor (What?)
I’m gonna make it (What?)
I will survive (What?)
Keep on survivin’ (What?)

Thought I couldn’t breathe without you,
I’m inhalin’
You thought I couldn’t see without you,
Perfect vision,
You thought I couldn’t last without ya,
But I’m lastin’
You thought that I would die without ya,
But I’m livin’
Thought that I would fail without ya,
But I’m on top,
Though it would be over by now,
But it won’t stop,
You thought that I would self-destruct,
But I’m still here,
Even in my years to come,
I’m still gon’ be here.

Leave a Reply

