Your Identity, The Journey, And Following Your Heart

Your identity and your success go hand in hand. Many people sacrifice their identities by not doing what they really want to do. And that’s why they’re not successful. -Lila Swell

And that, my loves, explains my reasoning behind the new path I’ve chosen.

I see so many brilliant people spending their days doing exactly opposite of what their heart longs for. There are plenty of reasons people get stuck in a dead end job. You need the money, you’ve been there for years, you’re scared to take a risk at something else, the list goes on. But what about that passion of yours that you can’t stop thinking about when you lay in bed at night? I decided to take a break from college so that I could become more settled in my life & find myself. I have been uprooted multiple times in the last year and each time it happened I learned a lot about myself. One of the biggest things I learned is that I want to give back. I’ve always wanted to pursue a career that benefits others and not just my bank account. I want it to be something that I feel is rewarding. So as I waited patiently to figure out what exactly that was, I had an epiphany… Where I realized that part of my journey is becoming a yoga instructor. I want to help people find peace, balance, and good health. I can only imagine how beautiful it will be when I am able to lend a hand in the process of others feeling empowered and learning to truly love themselves as they are. I had a hard time telling some people in my life that I had decided to do this. Not because they aren’t supportive but because it’s not the ideal route for me in some peoples eyes. And that’s okay. Because at the end of the day I know that I am following my heart and doing exactly what I know I need to be doing in my life. Someday I’ll go back to school, whether it be this fall or later on I know it will be the perfect time for me. Until then I will continue to trust my gut instinct and take the steps necessary so that I never live a life full of ‘what ifs’ and ‘I wish’.

In the end we each have a different path to take, none of our journeys are exactly alike. I find that beautiful and intriguing. Why not live your life the way it’s ought to be lived for you? When you do, walk it with confidence that it’s perfect the way it is. Or run. Or Jog. Or do cartwheels. I don’t really care, just do it and be happy. Enjoy what it is because reality is you created it and you can change it whenever you want. It’s just a matter of setting your mind to it and taking those risks that are intimidating but necessary in order to set your dreams into realities stone. God speed, babe. XOXO

2 thoughts on “Your Identity, The Journey, And Following Your Heart

Leave a Reply

