Do It For Yourself

You know your hair is out of control when your mum calls you up & offers to book an appointment & pay for you to go get it cut. I haven’t let anyone lay their little scissory digits on my head since my gorgeous hair stylist/girlfriend/lova Kerry left me (broke my heart) & moved back to Oregon. I can’t help but worry when it comes to my hair. As much as I hate to admit it, I’d rather have it grow out & look messy then have someone make me look like a wreck-up-from-the-neck-up because they don’t know what they’re doing… Once you find that perfect stylist it’s so hard to go to someone new. With that said, my ‘halle berry’ cut has grown into a lovelyyy shag that I somehow manage to squeeze into a pony/nub everyday. Or I put a hat on. I know, I know… A little pathetic. And like any mother would, mine has noticed how much I dislike the way I look (& feel) because of it.

I went from this

To this

and theeen….

To now…

(Super sorry, but my bieber fever hair & I couldn’t arrange a time to take a picture together. A hat will do until my hair is done from being under construction.)

I often talk about treating yourself to things so you feel good about yourself, yet I personally don’t do it. I like to save my money and be smart about what I spend it on, so setting money aside each month to go to the salon is hard for me to do without feeling guilty. I’m sure some of you are thinking, ‘But that’s what women do?’. It’s similar to how my girlfriends always give me shit because I refuse to cave in and buy expensive makeup even though it’s definitely something worth indulging in. I am a strong believer in ‘if you look good, you feel good’. Confidence plays a huge role in living your life your way, so if your confidence is lacking then it’s a little bit harder to carry yourself with pride & power. So I’m going to practice what I preach and make sure I stand by what I see to be true. I’m excited to let my headbands and hats retire so I can get back to feeling beautiful inside and out. I do have to say, sometimes mom simply knows best. Thank you for always making sure I’m taking care of me, I love you momma. XOXO

3 thoughts on “Do It For Yourself

Leave a Reply

