Who Will You Be?

Ever since I was wee I have found these 10 words to be the creators of an extremely broad, limitless path; ‘What do you want to be when you grow up?’  Whether it would be a teacher, coach, family member, or someone who was simply curious would look me in the eyes waiting for my response I would just sit there, quiet & absorbed. Yet my mind was racing, my heart pounding. It was as if someone had injected me with an electric tonic that made a movie of every dream I’ve ever had play vividly right before my eyes. How can one narrow this movie into one scene? One scene where we find ourselves happy, successful, & truly alive? 

In elementary school I dreamed of being a zoologist. I would spend hours in the school library during recess reading about Dr. Francine “Penny” Patterson, the woman who taught Koko the gorilla sign language. I wanted to do the unthinkable.

I then found my passion on the field, playing the beautiful game of Fútbol, or ‘Soccer’. I knew I wanted to pursue a future in the game, and I knew I wouldn’t stop until I could no longer physically play. That day came and I cried, I grew, and I moved forward.

Shortly after, I discovered my young soul might lack in math class at times, but never in passion. I began to express myself by writing and fell in love with the joy of the American language. That is when I knew that whatever I decided to ‘be’ when I ‘grew up’ would entail communicating, helping, embracing, learning from, and loving people. Not just my kind of people, or the right type of people, but people in general. I want to be educated on all walks of life, free of judgement, & far from ever being ‘satisfied’. And at the end of the day, I’ve come to realize that it isn’t ‘what’ I will be, but who I will be. I hope to be remembered by the love that often makes me feel like I could explode, & the things I do to create that in others.
“Every day I discover more and more beautiful things.
It’s enough to drive one mad. I have such a desire to do everything, my head is bursting with it.”
10 thoughts on “Who Will You Be?

  1. It’s funny, I have only recently gotten to the point that I can define myself as knowing what I want to be…as in what I want to do….I was always lost in the “who” I wanted to be…I spent years 7 to 11 wanting to be Tiffany…..ha

    • It always works out differently for people! Some figure it out at a young age, and others take more time. I see beauty in the gap where you’re not quite sure what you’re doing in life – that is where you are able to create yourself:) You’re an awesome girl Jani!

  2. absolutely beautiful! so well said :) it’s true. and that’s such a great reminder.

    and people are what makes life colorful and crunchy and dynamic and fun. what you wrote reminded me of when i was just about to graduate college — a lady i know challenged me and my friends to think about our futures not just in terms of what we’d do and where we’d go, but in terms of the amazing friends around us that we wanted to be a part of our futures. the ones that we wanted to “do life” with. the “who,” she said. :)

    the “who” is important in so many ways! lol.

    • Aw thank you so much! I cant tell you how much I love that you used the word ‘crunchy’! I am a word girl haha. I think that sounds like such an interesting thing to do, especially at such a pivotal time in life. The who is very important, because people wont always remember your income, but they will remember your effect.

  3. Thanks for the like on my post, Bailey :) .. This is a great post, I love this part: “…I knew that whatever I decided to ‘be’ when I ‘grew up’ would entail communicating, helping, embracing, learning from, and loving people.” Changes your perspective on planning for your future (what you want “to be”) — from choosing a specific job position or career goal to what you want to be as a person. Great message!

    • You’re welcome doll! And thank you so much, I was hoping to get that message out to my readers. I feel like many people focus so much on being ‘successful’ that they lose themselves in the process. Thank you for reading my blog:)

      • Yup, you got it out! =P … I hear ya, sometimes when I stop to really think about it, it boggles my mind how all of our lives seem to completely revolve around work. We go to school for so many years to “get a good job”, then we spend the next few decades working and finding that “perfect” career. *sigh* .. Anyways, no need to thank me for reading. Keep up the writing! =P

Leave a Reply

