French Onion Soup

My Aunt Kerry is not only the sweetest woman in the world but she is also an amazing cook. When I think of her I think of summer days, white sand, delicious meals & the queen of family time. I am so lucky to have her as my auntie. She recently gave me my first cook book & tonights dinner was the first of many that will come from it. Thank you so much Aunt Kerry, the second I saw all of the delicious recipes I was making meal plans like it’s my job.

The most difficult (& by difficult I mean time consuming) thing in this recipe is chopping & cooking your onions. Give yourself plenty of time, and I recommend buying yourself a Kitchen Aid chopper to make it easier on your eyes. I also bought oven-safe bowls from Smiths Marketplace that are PERFECT.

On the menu tonight: French Onion Soup

You will need:

  • 6 large white, sweet onions thinly slices
  • 3 Tbsp of butter
  • 6 Beef bouillon cubes dissolved in 6 cups of water
  • 1 1/2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 6 slices of French bread or toast
  • 1/4 cup of grated swiss cheese

Your Steps

  • Brown the onions in butter in a large deep skillet until tender.
  • Add bouillon (mixed with the water) and seasonings. Heat thoroughly.
  • Place a slice of toasted bread in each soup bowl either before or after pouring soup in the bowl. Sprinkle with (plenty) of cheese & broil for a few minutes. Enjoy!

I’m not a proud cook or anything…. :)

13 thoughts on “French Onion Soup

  1. legit question: did you have a TON of leftovers? our leftovers always go un-loved and just sit in the fridge and I usually divide my recipes by 2 or 4 depending on how many it is supposed to serve… it looks delicious and I want t try it!!

    • Hi love! Sorry I was in Hell week for school and my reply is so late. What I do is freeze what I can. So I freezed these left overs and they are still delicious and easy to prepare. Let me know how you like it!

  2. Oh my gosh!!! I love this little cooking informational! (i’m in a cooking class and the chef always says… dominate the knife don’t let it dominate you…) he’s a little pervy… it translates sharpen your knife so onions don’t make you cry like breakups do. lol

Leave a Reply

