“Never forget the dexterous & deft”

In honor of  Theodor Seuss Geisel’s birthday, also known as Dr. Seuss, I wanted to post my favorite quote by him. Shortly after I began the search for “my favorite” I realized I was being foolish to think I could stand to pick just ONE.

My aunt Kerry & cousin Kimberly would read his books to me at grandmas when I was wee, I read them to Talya and Zeb, and I still sneak away to the children’s section at the bookstore to get a chapter or two in. His message speaks to souls of every age and that, I believe, is what made him brilliant. Thank you for painting the trials of life with every color imaginable. Here’s to you, Mr. Geisel. Happy Birthday

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You’re on your own.
And you know what you know. You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.

“You’ll get mixed up, of course, as you already know. You’ll get mixed up with many strange birds as you go. So be sure when you step. Step with care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act. Just never forget to be dexterous and deft. And never mix up your right foot with your left.”

“All alone! Whether you like it or not, alone is something you’ll be quite a lot”

The second one is really beautiful to me. I find that a healthy amount dose of alone time (when spent doing positive things) is very rewarding. In my opinion it’s an excellent way to find yourself over & over again without paying a dime for a therapist ;)

“It has often been said
there’s so much to be read,
you never can cram
all those words in your head.

So the writer who breeds
more words than he needs
is making a chore
for the reader who reads.”

Last but not least the quote that hits close to home for all writers. I believe being a powerful writer means packing a punch with a small amount of words. This is something I (obviously) have to work on every single day.

12 thoughts on ““Never forget the dexterous & deft”

  1. “Oh The Places You’ll Go!” is not just my favorite Dr. Seuss story, it’s one of my favorite stories ever. I still read it several times a year. Means the world to me : )

Leave a Reply

