“Littles can make a big difference.”

Around 4 years ago I slept downtown, barefoot, with some of my close friends to take a stand for the invisible children. Although that was years ago, I now see that acts similar to the one I took are simply not enough. 12 days ago Janeth, an amazing girl I have met through this blog, sent me this video. A TEDxTeen talk by Natalie Warne, a young woman who has been making a significant difference, a difference far beyond sleeping downtown to be heard.

And then Jani wrote this post.

Yesterday a great friend of mine, Zack, shared a video that has started an uproar all across the U.S via blogs, Facebook, Twitter, & other social networks. It is called KONY 2012 (go here to watch it) It is a “Film and campaign by Invisible Children that aims to make Joseph Kony famous, not to celebrate him, but to raise support for his arrest and set a precedent for international justice.” 

The reality of what has been going on for over 20 years because of  Joseph Kony’s addiction to power is frightening. He is the head of the Lord’s Resistance Army and abducts, rapes, and kills children for no reason at all. Many people have been asking why we care about stopping Joseph Kony. Why aren’t we focusing on our own problems? Well, because that is not how history is made. Helping causes that only effect your life in Small Lake City, Utah is not how thousands of children’s lives are saved.

I ask you to take 30 minutes that you usually spend blogging, browsing Facebook, and thinking of clever tweets and set it aside for learning about the invisible children & what we can do to help. I understand it can be difficult to believe that you as an individual can make a difference, but when that feeling emerges, look to the heroes & she-roes of our world and remember this: they did it & so can you.

Make this man be held accountable. Reblog, like, share, and use your voice! Don’t let him slip between the cracks & get away with spreading evil among thousands of innocent children.


9 thoughts on ““Littles can make a big difference.”

  1. So weird. I was just reading about this and about to watch the video and you blog post popped up on Facebook. I remember the Invisible Children came to my high school years ago and the story killed me. I’m pretty sure I bought 4 or 5 bracelets to support them instead of one…seriously sad.

    • Hi love, I know I love the idea. I bought an action pack right after watching the film. Although I now know that only 30% of the proceeds goes toward the children I am still glad that I helped in a little way.

  2. Pingback: A delicious day + a recipe to tag along « Commander In Chic

Leave a Reply

