Have the courage to use your voice

Lets get this straight. Just because somebody is different then you does not give you the right to hurt them. If you believe you are superior in some way or another I want you to know you are not. We are all equal and deserve to be treated in an all-loving zero-judging way.  When we choose to use our words & physical strength in a negative way by putting others down it shows our true character, not the person who we are hurting.

When I was in high school I worked with students who had a harder time adjusting to the social scene of a classroom setting then others. I loved seeing them begin to open up to me and the other mentors after learning that they could trust us — that they were not going to be judged or treated differently. Each of them are brilliant and have amazing things to offer to the world, they just needed somebody to give them a chance.

Now I work for a company that helps high school dropouts get back into school called The American Academy. There is an alarming amount of students I talk to every single day that tell me the reason they dropped out is because they no longer felt safe because of bullying or had social barriers that effected their education. So they turn to us, where we help them get their high school diploma in an environment that does not put them at risk of being bullied. To learn more, go here.

I encourage all of you to support this film and the message it is promoting. Spread the word, stop bullying. Take your children, friends, family and anyone else that is willing to do their part to stop this awful problem. Nobody deserves the pain that bully creates. Take action! We cannot afford to lose any more young lives. It is just not okay. I am passionate about protecting our children and teaching them how to stand up for those who are in need. I refuse to turn the other way.

Life is hard and sometimes, especially when we are young, we say things we do not mean. Some may say their kids are “perfect” and think they would “never hurt anyone”. Parents, please, take this seriouslyIt starts at home. 

Please go here to sign an important petition regarding this film.

6 thoughts on “Have the courage to use your voice

  1. I agree with you that bullying does start in the household. Parents have no idea how their actions and lifestyle may play a role in why their children are bullies to others. I’ve never been a fan of bullying and feel that every person should be treated equally. I’ll definitely check out the information you provided.

    • Thank you Jeuron,

      it breaks my heart to see parents unintentionally plant negative habits into their children when they are so wee. It begins at such a young age now… kids are starting to rebel and act more mature because of society so bullying is starting earlier and earlier. Nasty cycle isn’t it…

  2. Bullying is awful, and I was horrified when I learned that an 11 year old had taken his own life. I will try to help spread the word about this film, another really interesting post.

Leave a Reply

