Digging in deep

Today I made a big mistake by not paying enough attention to detail. This particular habit always seems to bite me in the butt… I guess some foibles are more difficult to rid than others. For finals we have five articles due, one every night this week. I misunderstood & I shouldn’t have — it is all laid out on our class page & my professor told us plenty of times.

My professor asks us on an individual level how our articles are coming along each week. He’s brilliant, and he cares, which makes him one of the best teachers I have ever had. When he asked how mine were coming along I told him I had three stories with sources & had to do the interviews this week. When he look more concerned than usual I knew I made a mistake.

I thought all 5 were due on Friday — and I was wrong. There is one article due every night this week. My face started to burn.

It slipped. I said fuck. In front of everyone in class. Now I’m the girl in Logan with a bad mouth who can’t get her articles finished on time, FABULOUS! That’s just fan-fuckin-tastic. Yes, sorry, I said it once so I said it again because I needed to let it out.

Those that don’t approve of that word are likely back to stalking their ex on Facebook. (Then again, those that are/would be judging me probably left a long time ago) ANYWAY…

I hurried and got online to do some research. I found a lead & started to write.

My professor approved it & I went straight to do an interview after a couple of phone calls.

When I got there nobody really knew what I was talking about — and the one person that they said ‘probably did’, had just left.

Oye… too little too late.

___________________________________________

Long story not short at all (are you seeing a trend here?…ya, me too), I ended up buying a new pot & some soil for a plant in-need waiting at home because it was convenient; My interview was at a garden shop that was, by the way, amaze-balls. My money-tree has been dying (no pun intended) to be re-potted for weeks. I’m a bad plant mommy. BUT I finally remembered to grab what I needed to give him a happy home.

I love crystals. I use them when I meditate and I studied doing chakra work with them last summer. But my passion for crystals began when I was younger, specifically with the amethyst in the far right of the photo. It’s late now & I need to get some rest, but I promise to tell you that story soon. It’s beautiful, and I learned a lesson I still live by today.

I mostly hope my baby tree loves his new home and that he is much happier now. I know it’s lame, but I believe if you give a plant the right kind of love it will love you right back. Dig deep often & give all living things a beautiful space to grow & your life might feel a little lighter.

Although I have let myself down at school this week, I am still glad I got busy with my plans instead of sulking. I’ve never understood why gardening is so theraputic until now… Sometimes when you’re feeling down, you should do just that: get on your knee’s, plunge those hard-working hands into the dirt and pull. Create. Plant. Give life by placing a tiny seed. I can’t promise anything, but I think you might feel better.


5 thoughts on “Digging in deep

  1. Sometimes you have to say fuck… and then work in the dirt. It always helps me (the word and the gardening!). I’m glad you feel better and not to worry… I bet your professor and everyone in that class knows “you’re that girl in Logan who busts it day after day”.

    • This is the first thing I read today — thank you for being the reason I started my day with some self-confidence. You helped me feel a lot more at peace about the whole thing. I hope you know that what you said about what my professor & classmates think really means a lot to me… I really appreciate you reaching out to me. I hope you have a great day.

  2. I get to help my friend garden two or three times a week. It really does make me feel good. i am growing tomatoes now in my windowsill and I love seeing the shoots getting bigger.

Leave a Reply

