Lotus

I was first introduced to mala beads by my mother and two of her best friends, Brenna and Carolyn, when I was around 8 years old. I have always been a worrier so when I discovered my personal calm with a pair of mala beads my mother kept in our home I vowed to keep that practice in my life for the years to come.

Eventually I had my own beads and I wore them daily. To me mala beads represent creation, intention, prayer and an inner peace. In school I would slowly slide one bead at a time to the opposite end of the strand with my thumb and index finger to find my focus. It was amazing to me that something so simple brought so much peace into my life.

In 2012 I spent 8 days in the hospital. Shortly after I returned to my home my aunt Brenna and her two beautiful sons, Makana and Denali, traveled from Colorado to visit. During their stay we spent plenty of time gardening and discussing different ways of coping with love, loss, and rising above our circumstances.

The day before they left Salt lake we took a last minute trip to Dancing Cranes. Brenna ended up finding a strand of beautiful mala beads made of Lotus seeds. She explained to me that the Lotus seed symbolizes spiritual knowledge and power. And how just like many of us it must rise above its environment in order to properly bloom.

The lotus grows out of muddy waters and eventually unfolds into a gorgeous flower. When rain pours down onto a lotus flower it does not stick and weigh the petals down, instead the rain simply falls back into the water below.

She put the beads around my wrist and told me that at that time of my life I needed to remember that I too had the ability to grow deep roots to withstand the challenges life presents. And that with time, I shall bloom as well. It has been one year since I started my personal journey through my own “muddy waters” and I am thankful to say that with the love, guidance, and strength from those around me I have found it within to bloom where I have been planted. I treasure the gift that was given to me because it is much more than a pair of beads.

I continue to learn about myself throughout my spiritual practice, and I make daily devotions to send love and light to the people around me. There is no doubt in my mind that the power of thought can help us overcome anything in our lives as long as we genuinely want to see a change. And that to me is one of the most profound things about this life that we live.

Until next time, Bee

Image

6 thoughts on “Lotus

    • Hey thank you! Yes the lotus flower is very complex with it’s beauty as well as the things it stands for. I’m always learning more about it. I hope you’re doing great!

    • Thank you Kate. They are mostly known among those who practice buddhist beliefs but can be used in many different ways. I love your blog, I’m a big cat lover myself. Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog.

Leave a Reply

