Breakfast like a Queen

My breakfast used to consist of an iced mocha & if I was lucky, a poppyseed muffin. Yah, it was bad. I soon realized that starting my day with milk, sugar, and carbs guaranteed an early afternoon crash & other ugly side effects.

My excuse was that I didn’t have time to prepare a healthy breakfast before work. Well I’m calling BS on myself and any of you who make the same excuse. Overnight oats have changed my mornings and I hope they do the same for you. They are quick, easy, nutritious, and delicious. You know what they say: Eat breakfast like a queen, lunch like a princess, and dinner like a pauper.

What you’ll need:

  • 1/3 cup regular oats
  • 1 cup almond milk | and more if needed |
  • 1-2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 ripe banana, peeled and smashed
  • 1-2 teaspoons of cinnamon

Add all of the ingredients listed above to a mason jar and mix it together. I usually prepare my oats before bed. Oats will really soak up the flavors of the fruit and spices you add to them, so have fun with it. Once you’re done adding your ingredients just stick it in the fridge.

You can certainly substitute the almond milk for regular milk.. I just prefer to avoid dairy as much as possible. Sometimes if I only have a banana on hand I’ll add a little bit of vanilla extract to my oats to give them a little oomph. The options are endless.

The next morning I put my oats in a big ole’ bowl and top it with more fresh fruit and some extra almond milk. I’ll add a handful of almonds if I don’t quite feel full and off to work I go. Enjoy your morning beautiful!

Overnight Oats Fact: According to Japanese Scientific Research, full ripe bananas with dark patches on yellow skin produces a substance called TNF (Tumor Necrosis Factor) which has the ability to combat abnormal cells. The darker patches it has the higher it’s immunity enhancement quality; Hence, the riper the banana the better the anti-cancer quality.

4 thoughts on “Breakfast like a Queen

  1. Me my boyfriend just jumped on the overnight oats train :) We travel a lot.. especially weekend road trips.. and found it to be the perfect morning breakfast (especially on the road) we just eat them straight out of the mason jars!

  2. I had been soaking the rolled oats in boiling water overnight, but have found the oats taste better if the water is cold (In both cases I warm is up the next morning before eating it). Have never tried using almond milk, but can attest that soaking the rolled oats overnight in ordinary milk makes for soft, silky, creamy porridge which is good either hot or cold.

Leave a Reply

