The Job That Changed My Life

Three years ago I called my mom & told her that I did not want to be a receptionist at a day spa anymore. I didn’t want to get all dolled up every evening & be the hostess-of-the-mostess at a high end, beautiful restaurant. And I didn’t want to answer phones at a hair salon & fold towels all day. I was thankful for those jobs & the opportunities & people I was lucky enough to experience along the way. But I didn’t want to just work, I wanted to inspire. I shed some tears about it, went to sleep, and then I woke up & got busy.

My heart knew that it was time to start searching for my purpose. I knew if I looked within myself & remained positive I could find the thing that would make me eager to rise early in the morning & work hard all day. It was time to find something that would not only occupy my time, allow me to support myself, and help me grow as a young woman — but something where I was making a difference in other peoples lives as well.

Fortunately the universe heard me. A few months later I was offered a position as a recruiter at The American Academy, an online private high school. I absolutely loved what I was doing, and then something amazing happened: I felt myself begin to feel alive again. I knew I was where I needed to be & that is where I have stayed.

I have been with TAA ever since & it has been such a rewarding journey. I’m honored to work with such incredible people every single day. I’m surrounded by motivated individuals who genuinely love helping others succeed. My students remind me every day that we can all do anything we set our minds to, no exceptions. They are proof that it is not about what happens to you in life but how you react. There are times when I hear the things they have gone through at such a young age & it really puts things into perspective for me. They help me be strong & appreciate the little things in life.

When I accepted my first position with TAA I had recently finished a semester at the local community college. After I completed my classes I decided to take a break from school for a while. I was burnt out & needed to focus on supporting myself financially so that I could have a stable lifestyle. A lot of our students originally dropped out for that exact reason, but they also have children & other hardships to overcome. But they found the courage to return to school. That is what motivates me. I love my students, and the fact that they keep on working hard when it would be so much easier to give up is amazing to me.

Thanks to TAA I have decided to enroll for Spring 2014 classes & start working towards the dreams that I put on hold for a while. And I have to admit.. I am absolutely scared to death to return to school. But I know that this is what I need to do in order to become the woman I want to be & open doors for myself. I’ll be able to create a better future for myself, and I’ll also learn how to be an even better support system to my students. I am so incredibly grateful for my job. I help students graduate & become more confident —  now it’s my turn.

What are you thankful for that has influenced your life in a positive way?

b09f0f64825d976b71a37ea342442257

7 thoughts on “The Job That Changed My Life

    • Writing is a beautiful thing & such a great outlet. I read your post about your mother today. I love it when people express love & gratitude to their parents (especially their moms) I hope she has a great birthday, and I hope to hear from you more often! Happy Sunday.

      • I concur Bailey, writing is a very beautiful and powerful thing! Thank you for your kind words, I look forward to reading more about your adventures!

  1. Good for you Bailey! I can relate to everything you wrote about in this post. I’m in the process of trying to figure out my career path. I’m thankful for my current job, but my dream is to have a job that I look forward to going to everyday where I can impact the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

