A Day of Affirmation

You know what I love? Moments in life where it all clicks. Today I was sitting in my Psychology class and all of a sudden it came together: I am in the right place with the right people, doing exactly what I need to be doing. It seems so simple but it was such a profound feeling for me.

I’ve been so nervous about saying goodbye to my “break” from school. “What if I can’t find my class? What if I get a parking ticket? Will my classmates be inviting? Will my teacher and I work well together? What if I fail?” I was freaking. OUT.

I questioned my ability to find balance between my education in the classroom and my education in my everyday life. The life I created once I made the decision to focus on self-discovery ended up being tough, but absolutely beautiful once I got the hang of things. But tonight I realized that I am not letting go of that life, I am simply adding to it.

Let me break this down real quick. My professor also teaches yoga (my first OMG) She teaches Psych at Westminster (my dream school) as well, and she mentioned that one of her greatest passions is being a mother to her two daughters. She assigned the first chapter of the book for homework, and asked us to watch a TED talk. Hi, I was in heaven.

The TED talk happens to be something I watched a few weeks ago, and it absolutely blew me away. And the presenter is a 13-year-old boy. I strongly encourage you to watch it. It’s called Hackschooling makes me happy (click to be taken to the video) My professor, Miss Cain, encourages us to do whatever it takes to “hack” this class to our liking.

I started the day with an amazing workout, went to work and connected with all of my amazing students and colleagues, and then had the opportunity to go to school and have my mind and heart opened up in multiple ways. I’m feeling pretty ecstatic about life right now. Today taught me this: We lose ourselves in the things we love, and we find ourselves there, too.

This is the smile I had to keep to myself until I got to my house and shut my front door. Oh, the joys of being the biggest, happiest dork on the planet right now. I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings. I hope life is spoiling you with similar moments like I had today.

All my love and giddy-ness,

Bailey Mikell

Photo on 1-13-14 at 7.57 PM

19 thoughts on “A Day of Affirmation

  1. How wonderful for you. Take this feeling, put it in your heart and mind. And you will know that it van happen again. And again. And again.

Leave a Reply

